This is the last week of nail polish Canada’s holiday nail art challenge. This week’s theme is “holiday memories,” which have me a bit of trouble at first. I don’t know about you, but my favorite holiday memories tend to begin (and often end) with alcohol. So instead of trying to manufacture some sort of heartwarming manicure, I decided to go with my first instinct and make it all about booze. Et voila!

20131211-160553.jpg

What would the holidays be without our friends Veuve Clicquot, Absolut vodka, Bombay sapphire gin, and Bailey’s Irish cream?  If you like this, please take a moment and vote for me! Here’s a closer look at how I created this manicure:

20131211-161118.jpg

I started with a couple of coats of plain white.

20131211-161220.jpg

Then I took ciaté’s sugar plum and thinned some down on a plate to create a purple wash, which I applied with a paintbrush.

20131211-161516.jpg

Then I took pillow fight by ciaté, thinned it out and used a fine pointed dotting tool to create the outline of the liquor bottles. I would like to state for the record that I did not do this from memory, I had pictures to work from.

20131211-161916.jpg

Here I started to fill in the colors a bit. I had to custom mix the colors on the champagne bottle, they are so specific and I just didn’t have anything quite right.

20131211-162227.jpg

While the bottles were drying, I started the glass outlines for the cocktails on my thumb. Unfortunately, I only had room for three glasses, but I think they turned out well. Then I added some detail to the labels of the bottles.

20131211-162550.jpg

Here I adjusted some of the bottles and filled the glasses with various drinks. I also filled the empty spaces in the glasses with white and edited down the outlines on the bottles and glasses.

20131211-162811.jpg

Putting a topcoat on this sort of manicure is always a challenge. Start by waiting for everything to be absolutely dry. Really, wait a ridiculous amount of time. Then dab topcoat on the detailed bits. Brushing it on can lead to streaking and distortion, so dab on generous amounts and wait for that to dry before sweeping on another coat all over.

Thanks so much to everyone who voted for me!

