The lovely people at Nail Polish Canada sent me a new konad plate to review, and I have to say I’m pretty stoked.  Not only because I like getting free stuff, but the plate I got is pretty awesome.

Konad plate

 

The prints are great, it’s hard to choose which one to do first.  Plus, they seem to have fixed a lot of the complaints people have had about them.  They increased the size of the etching, so it’s no problem covering any of your nails, even if they’re a bit longer.  Seriously, check out the difference:

platescloser

You can see the size difference.  Also, I’m not sure, but it seems like the etchings are slightly deeper as well.  I noticed that it was a lot easier to get the full pattern on my nail each time without any gaps or smudges.

Here’s some swatches I did to experiment with the different prints:

swatch

I decided to try the checkerboard first, but I think the black and white might be a bit much for day-to-day wear, so I experimented with a few different color combos.

testfist1

My index and middle fingers I painted white, and then used the blue and silver konad polish to do the print.  My ring finger I tried the leopard print, but the colors are a little too similar, so it didn’t really show up.  My pinky I painted british racing green and used white konad for the pattern.  You can really see how well the pattern shows up with these new plates, the colors are opaque and solid, and the edges are really crisp and clear.

finishedflat

 

I like the white and silver combo, it’s subtle but nice.  It really turned out well.  Like I said, this new plate makes it easy to get it right the first time.

 

Now it’s your turn to get free stuff!  Nail Polish Canada is having a nail art giveaway and you can win all five of the recently released konad plates.  Click here to enter.  Good luck!

 

