Spring’s runways shows were a bit all over the board when it comes to trends, and much of what was shown was unflattering, or even downright ugly.  A lot of the same shapeless, bulky silhouettes as fall were shown, which was frankly disappointing.  Here are some trends for spring that don’t disappoint.

Lingerie-inspired Looks

From bra tops to corsetry and bustier tops, lingerie was all over the runway.  Here are some of my favorite ensembles:

Bra tops are a major trend for spring, but they can be a bit difficult to wear for most people. This criss-cross top by Balenciaga is gorgeous and a bit more full coverage.

This top by Zac Posen combines corseting details with a cloud of tulle to create an ethereal ballerina effect.

Burberry showed a few variations of this nude satin bustier dress. The color and fit are gorgeous, and I love the seaming.

Zac Posen’s use of tulle this season is amazing. The way he gathers it to create lines and seaming on this dress is absolutely breathtaking.

Miu Miu has this great way of throwing together an eclectic range of high and low pieces and somehow making it work.

Creative Cut Outs

Shirts, dresses, swimwear, shoes, everything seemed to have cut-outs this season.  Get ready to show some skin with these amazing pieces!

Roberto Cavalli is famous for his super sexy dresses, and this black and white number is no exception.

I love the combination of different materials and textures in this Roberto Cavalli floor-length dress.

This dress by Roberto Cavalli is pretty much nothing but cutouts. Remind me to start doing my crunches.

I love love love this swimsuit by Jason Wu. Amazing!

I’m not usually a jumpsuit girl, but Jason Wu is really pulling it off this season.

Another look from Jason Wu, this gown is gorgeous. I love the sequins, it looks like a starry night. This is one of my favorite things this season.

At first glance, this Gucci dress doesn’t look like it has cut outs, but check out the back:

So dramatic!

I love pretty much everything about this J. Mendel dress, except the see-through skirt. That’s not going out in public.

I love the side and back cut-outs on this Lanvin dress, and the way the thick metal collar contrasts with the feminine bow at the hip.

Moschino sent this sporty little number down the runway. I can only assume it’s for a fabulous but slutty tennis match.

Here’s a close up from a better angle.

This Versace dress is perfect for the super upscale tropical vacation I haven’t booked and can’t afford. But I still want it. Even though the vacation itself would probably cost less.

Fringe

There’s really no avoiding it, Fringe is going to be everywhere next year.  Fortunately, everyone seems to be loving super long and flattering fringe, and I fully intend to embrace this trend.

It’s hard to tell if this outfit by Versace is a dress, a skirt and top, or even if the fringe is just attached to a belt. All I know is, it’s fabulous.

I’m not usually into two-tone jewelry, but the gold and silver trim on this dress looks great. You can just tell that you would feel like a rockstar in that thing.

I am loving the wild long and layered fringe on this Nina Ricci dress. Although the model could use a good bra. Just because you’re wearing fringe, everything doesn’t need to be swinging around.

This shock of blinding white fringe at Marchesa left me gagging for more. Actually, their whole show was ridiculously gorgeous.

A little bit of Spanish flavor from Ralph Lauren, I’m loving the fringed skirt look.

International Fashion

A lot of the designers this season took their inspiration from the traditional dress of many different countries.  From the Spanish look I just showed you from Ralph Lauren, to Marchesa’s Indian inspired line (which I will show you most of because it’s just too good), to Nina Ricci’s parisian twists, Spring’s fashions have more stamps in their passports than most of the models do.

This look from Dolce Gabbana is very traditional (if slightly see-through) Italian. I don’t usually go for horizontal stripes, but this dress is kind of awesome.

I love this Nina Ricci polka dot dress, and the way she gathers the material slightly to the side transforms what would be a pretty simple dress into something elegant and unique.

Ralph Lauren also threw a little love to the parisians with this somewhat stereotypical get-up. Personally I would lose the scarf and the beret, but I can see it working for someone else.

You will notice that the rest of these looks are all by Marchesa. That’s because the designers rocked my socks off with their Indian-inspired designs. I couldn’t choose just one or two, they are all amazing.

The opulence of this dress is just so striking. I love the gold and maroon, so striking.  And the shoes are perfect, too.

It takes a lot for me to love a formal dress worn with leggings. I’m pretty sure this is the only time that look has worked.

I cannot get enough of Marchesa’s sari inspired prints and draping this season. so elegant and graceful.

This shorter dress in the same color scheme is lovely, too.

I was tempted to put this picture in with the lingerie inspired looks, but it really is modeled after traditional Indian dress. And it is so beautiful, I would happily wear that as my wedding dress.

You really get the sari inspiration from this dress. Gorgeous draping, stunning sheer fabric, and very sexy lines.

The amount of beading that had to go into this dress just blows my mind. So beautiful.

This gown is an all-out show stopper. If I don’t see some fabulous celebrity wearing it down the red carpet this coming year, I will be shocked.

 

Pastel Palette

Spring seasons often have a softer palette than fall.  This year, the focus seems to be on minty greens and soft hazy blues.

 

I love this pale blue suiting by Donna Karan

 

This simple slip dress is also by Donna Karan, and it just looks so comfortable.

 

This airy J. Mendel dress looks like something a greek goddess would wear, and I love the pale green color.

 

I love the lacy cut-outs on this Roberto Cavalli Dress.

 

This Zac Posen minty green gown is seriously gorgeous. No one does seaming like him.

 

Well there you have the major trends for spring.  It’s a lot of body-conscious looks, so I don’t know about you, but I’ll be hitting the gym a little harder and thinking twice before I gorge myself on Christmas cookies.  Those things are the worst; they’re already bad for you because they’re cookies, but then they all have frosting or colored sugar on them as well.  So delicious, but so evil.