Earlier this week I shared some of my inspirations for the next costume I will be making. Today I thought I would share some of the materials I will be using and some designs I have sketched out so far.

The base for my design is going to be a corset. I have picked out this one by What Katie did as most of the panels are made with a mesh fabric, which will make it much easier to sew all of the feathers on:

Cabaret sheer Sophia corset

I love the ribbon laces on the back.

After looking at several different feather trims, I settled on this blue peacock feather trim from Plumes & Feathers:

And I will probably be incorporating some of this peacock herl fringe:

These will be great for along the bottom.

Here are my first sketches for the costume:

Here are the front and back views of the corset, and below is a fringed skirt to be worn underneath.

If time allows, I will be constructing a fan with black ostrich feathers and peacock tail feathers to complete the ensemble.

I’ve ordered most of the supplies I should need to get started, so I should be able to post some progress pictures by the end of the week!

