As I promised yesterday, here are my top picks for fall handbags. The majority of the fall collections’ handbags haven’t hit stores yet, but I added some choices that are in stores now that are on point for the trends we’re seeing on the runways. The main trends for fall handbags are top handle handbags, doctor’s bag shapes, two-tone bags, lady-like clutches and wallets, and pops of color. All of these bags are available either at Nordstrom, Neiman Marcus, or Barney’s. Here are my favorites:

 

Two-Tone Bags

This lady-like black and white bag by Yves Saint Laurent is my favorite bag of the season. Classic, timeless, effortless, you could be carrying it for years to come.

 

 

Tom Ford is coming out with a line of bags and shoes this fall, and this is by far his best offering. Sort of a cross between a birkin bag and a doctor’s bag.

 

This clutch by Balmain also has a hidden chain so that it can be worn on the shoulder. A lovely, showy piece that fits in equally well with both the texture and the black and white trends of this season.

 

Lady-like Clutches

I love this croc-embossed wallet by Givenchy. It’s beautiful, and can work as either a wallet in your purse, or as an elegant clutch for a night out.

 

 

Alexander McQueen does this shape for their clutches most seasons, and year after year I love it. They always come out with new prints and textures, and have several new styles for fall. This Union Jack painted on suede is my favorite.

 

I love Christian Louboutin clutches, I especially love that they use a tiny pair of shoes on top as the latch. This particular model is nude satin with black lace.

 

 

I love this jewel embellished clutch by Lanvin. Roomy enough to hold all of your essentials, but elegant enough for the fanciest of black tie affairs.

 

Top Handle Bags

I love this doctor’s bag style handbag by Gucci. The past few seasons I haven’t seen any Gucci bags that really excited me, but this is classic, chic, roomy, and effortless. I know I said the black and white YSL was my favorite, but I may be changing my mind…

 

This Burberry tote is a versatile catch-all for everything you find yourself trying to cram into your purse. Ample and versatile, it has a top handle and a longer shoulder strap so you can carry it both ways.

 

 

This 3.1 Phillip Lim satchel zippered vents on either side to expand the purse, as well as a latch closure for those of you who appreciate a little more security.

 

A Pop of Color

I love the bright orange on this Proenza Schouler pochette. Available in a variety of colors, the orange python is not new for fall, but would look great contrasting with all of the green fashions, or to break up a black and white or monochromatic outfit.

 

The PS1 bag, also by Proenza Schouler, comes in a myriad of colors and materials, but this smokey color is perfect for fall and beyond. With both a cross-body strap and a top handle, this classic purse is a great everyday bag that will be in style for a long, long time.

 

 

This Yves Saint Laurent clutch is a classic style that is always a great choice. I love this muted green color, which is new this season.

 

 

